Gawain Jones Wins British Chess Championships 2017

August 7, 2017

The British Chess Championships 2017, were held between the 29th July and 6th August 2017, in Llandudno, Wales, United Kingdom. The event saw Grandmaster Gawain Jones take the title after a tie-break pay-off against Grandmaster Luke McShane. In my previous blog post, which was after round-six (read here), Jones, 29, […check it out!]

McShane Leads 2017 British Chess Championships After 6 Rounds

August 4, 2017

When we last visited this year’s British Championships, which was after round-three, (read here), there was a four-way-tie at the top between David Howell, Gawain Jones, Daniel Gormally and Chris Ward. In the three rounds that have followed, there have been some big changes in the standings. The most notable, is […check it out!]

British Championships 2017: Four Lead After Three Rounds.

August 1, 2017

The British Chess Championships run from July 28th until August 6th 2017. The venue is the Promenade, Llandudno, Wales. The main event is played over nine-rounds, Swiss format, with the following time controls: 40 moves in 90 minutes, followed by 30 minutes to finish the game, with an increment of […check it out!]